Day Out

Yesterday (It’s after midnight now my time) I went out to an artist’s gathering. I’ve been trying to put myself out there both with my work and myself. And this was perfect.

 

And it really was. I didn’t get to speak to many people but I realized that the artist community is alive and vibrant here in the city. It gave me a lot of hope and just being there made me feel grown and professional you know.

There’s a contest that’s happening. I’m planning on submitting the short story I’ve been working on and indeed I started rewriting my opening while I was there and on the way home. I’ve never felt so inspired.

There will be a market for the ‘unknowns’ that I’m planning on going to. I’m making a chapbook that I plan to offer and I’m looking for music to accompany me since I want to perform some of them aloud. The genre of music I’m looking at is called dark ambient. I think it fits since the theme of my chapbook is Uncertainty.

Uncertainty keeps recurring for me right now. I’m trying to finish my education and I’m not sure where I’ll end up and I don’t have any idea what my life is going to look like in 5 years time and I’m scared. Excited but really scared. So that’s the focus of the chapbook. I already have six poems written.

Leave a comment