On Races and Species

I was just thinking about fantasy fiction. I’ve been reading it for a long time and I love the genre to death.

But something that I’ve been finding myself somewhat of a problem with is, I guess you could say, taxonomy?

When authors, readers, publishers, and the like refer to the different types of groups of creatures, more than likely I’ve found, they describe them as different races.

I have a bit of a problem with that.

I see vampires, werewolves, fairies, and other non humans as a species. They have similar origins and similar abilities right?

While with races, I see that as a different type of the same species. Like you can have a vampire that’s from another country than where the story is set. I have a vampire named Euphie living in Indiana, but her roots are Scottish.

Does that make any sense? I just see the two classifications as two different things. I’ve just been thinking about that lately and I thought I’d post about it here.

Leave a Reply

